So, I watched the West Coast version (since that’s the one we recorded while watching Castle), then I watched the East Coast version, since that’s the one CBS.com is showing for the full episode. And I have to say, I don’t understand why the East Coast voted for the boss. Sure, he looked shifty and suspicious at the start, and maybe tried to shift suspicions on to Ms. Fine, but Prof Cutler was his buddy. If he didn’t want to pry into his personal life because he’d have had to fire him if he was making time with a student, I find it difficult to believe he’d kill the guy for the research.  Much more likely that he’d just blackmail him into sharing credit; even if Cutler wasn’t banging a student, he could’ve threatened to end his career by firing him for that anyway.  There are a lot of people out there who can ruin someone by claiming harassment  etc. I’m not saying that all sexual predators are innocent, just that it’s damn near impossible to prove a negative.

As for it being the student, which was who the West Coast voted for, well, I kinda bought that. The kid was street smart, not book smart, so trying to take credit for someone else’s research to get rich is viable. Now, if that kid had been who Rebecca got her drugs from, I could’ve seen it for sure.

But the most logical suspect, IMO, was the TA. First, he was writing the tests and then selling the answers. That shows a sort of wrong-doing type of entrepreneurial spirit. He acted more guilty than either the dean or the student by running when they went to question him about a relatively minor evil; after all, since he wrote the exams, he wasn’t violating a copyright or anything like that, so I don’t think what he was doing was necessarily illegal, just unethical. He just seemed like the type who would do pretty much anything to get ahead, and TAs are notoriously dumped on by their professors, even in the most innocuous of classes (and even when you’re just a slightly more advanced student and not a TA at all, says my own personal voice of experience), which the show had set up that he was in the initial interview.  So I was kinda surprised that neither coast voted for him, although I did read one commentator who said he did.

Other things about the episode: Hurrah, Will Yun Lee is back! Love to hate the guy, and he tweaked my heartstrings as well as Kono’s. But if I’d been her, I’d’ve grabbed the roses!

I’m crossing my fingers, toes, eyes and whatever in hopes that Danny’s nephew decides to go to college and work in the crime lab right there in Honolulu.  First, he could sooo help Charlie win Kono’s heart. I know I can’t be the only one who thinks those two belong together. Second, having him around would possibly bring back Danny saying, “Back in Jersey”, which is one of the squares on my H5-0 Bingo cards. Third, his contributions to the investigation were not completely without merit, and the scene at the door of Bullwinkle’s pad (aka Badger from Breaking Bad, or so I hear) was perfect comic relief.  Good to know I’m not the only one who thinks Andrew Lawrence looks more like Brendan Fraser than Joey “Whoa!” Lawrence. (I don’t know what the third brother Matt looks like, and I’m not going to bother to look it up because I have more posts to make/shows to watch).

In retrospect, I hate to agree with that commentator, who also said that the final motive was weak, and that he’d thought we’d be solving clues a la Agatha Christie, but I do. Because that’s what I thought, too, and when the first notification to vote came onscreen, I remarked to my friend, “But we really haven’t seen any motives or evidence yet!” She thought maybe we’d not been introduced to all of them, but on rewatch, we were, and that same rewatch, IMO, further weakened the case for Carlton’s boss.

But like I said, I got posts to write and more shows to watch, so ta for this week, folks.

NT

