Long time no postie. And it might be a while before I post again since I no longer get to watch shows the same day. But there’s been more than a few times where the fingers are itching to get on here and type, so I’m finally gonna do it.

Since I watch my shows on the ‘net when I get a chance, it’s easy for me to get behind and not realize it. So I actually watched the last two shows of Glee in reverse order; I only realized I’d missed one when I spotted two new kids in the club. But I’m glad I did, because that episode was better than “The Rise and Fall of Sue Sylvester”. Because we went back to the beginning, sorta, and got to know the new kids. And maybe actually get to care about them. Loved that Kitty called them out on the alumnus crap.

I noticed the spark between Mason and Jane when the did their first duet, so it’s nice he’s getting out of Madison’s shadow. (And I agree with the previouslytv recapper when he said mother issues are NOT how that duo has been presented. More like Flowers in the Attic than Psycho.) Speaking of duets, that interaction with Sue and Will played right into why I started this blog to begin with. See, every other recapper and commenter would bitch and whine whenever Glee started a song in the auditorium and then switched into some unbelievable performance sequence. So the Glee club watching those two play air guitar while prancing about on the stage, intercut with their hair band antics, really spelled out what I’ve been maintaining all along — IT’S A FANTASY. IT’S ALL IN THEIR HEADS. Get over it.

And the interplay between Roderick, Alistair, and Spencer was sweet and well done. The only thing that pissed me off about the last two shows is that, very shortly after Rachel got Kitty back in the Glee club by promising her that she’d stick it out with them, she was back auditioning for Broadway and now she’s got two reasons to go back to New York. But what else have we come to expect from Rachel Berry?

Anyway, here’s the main dealio I wanted to talk about: Does when you first hear a song influence how you feel about it? See, here’s the thing: A very long time ago I was dating a guy who absolutely loved Whitney’s version of “I Will Always Love You” because he first heard it in “The Bodyguard”, whereas I preferred the original songstress (and author!) Dolly Parton’s version because I first heard it in “The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas.” (Which I saw here in Juneau at the downtown theatre, FWIW).

I bring this up because Glee has definitely influenced my music choices over the years. Sure, it’s been a rich home of my favorite classic rock anthems and ballads (I’m an old fart who doesn’t think there’s been much decent music past 1984), but it’s brought me to liking some new stuff, too, like Britney, Katy Perry and Lady Gaga. And it did it again last night, when I was watching “The Final Countdown”. See, there’s a new song out there that everyone’s into — “Uptown Funk” by Mark Ronson feat. Bruno Mars. Everyone’s so into it, that it’s already been copied and aped and mimicked and redone to death. I finally decided to give it a try when, a couple weeks ago, the Huffington Post assured me that I’d get a kick out of watching a bunch of old people shake their groove thang to it. Except I didn’t. I hated it. I watched for less than two minutes before I shuddered and turned it off.

Then, last night, I’m watching Glee, and the kids start in on a song. It’s a great song. It’s catchy. It makes me drum my fingers along to it. I want to boogie in my seat. And then the chorus hits me, and I’m damned if it isn’t “Uptown Funk”. WTF? How come I like it now? How come, with these kids bopping around and singing, I think it’s a great song? This definitely isn’t a “I heard that version first” thing — I already turned it off once. I just don’t know. What do you think?

